SundayStills: Foreground – My land my pride

Ony my way to the most beautiful strech of rain forest in Kerala, called Waynad; the site of this very lonely monkey sitting on the road barriers called my attention. His face was full of confidence and pride as if he told me “you are here to enjoy? yes this is my land, my pride and my home land no one can kick me out, just keep moving”

Rainforests are critical in maintaining the Earth’s limited supply of drinking and fresh water.

A typical four-square-mile patch of rainforest contains as many as 1,500 flowering plants, 750 species of trees, 400 species of birds and 150 species of butterflies.

Every second, a slice of rainforest the size of a football field is mowed down. That’s 86,400 football fields of rainforest per day, or over 31 million football fields of rainforest each year.

Please I beg each and every one of you to preserve our most valuable natural resources. Our collective little efforts will surely make a big difference for our planet’s future.

 

19 thoughts on “SundayStills: Foreground – My land my pride

  1. that is sad that so much rain forest is cut each day. There has to be a better way. But did you really catch that little guy sitting there, because the post doesn’t seem to blend in. If so, that is awesome. If not, I’m very glad you made this point of saving the rain forests!!! Please don’t be mad of my question. I ldo, so much, love your photos, and what you do!!!

Leave a Reply

